lohaben.blogg.se

Jealousy in othello quotes
Jealousy in othello quotes








jealousy in othello quotes

Repetition Wife creates alliteration of ‘w’ + exclamation creates a tone of confusion after his seizures etc. “My wife! My wife! What Wife?” Act 5 Scene 2 (Insanity) He has a strange loyalty in his mind, perhaps he is trying to save his pride or even Desdemona from stopping her from further scandals if thats what she’s done.Įmphatic ‘oh’ used throughout Othello, indicates broken speech, thus mind, thus broken society- natural order broken common feature. parallel to Romeo and Juliet.Īn honourable murderer, if you will, For naught I did in hate but all in honour” Act 5 scene 2 line 291 (Loyalty) Willingness to end his life as hers is over. Othello shows loyalty as he kills himself next to her. Othello realising the value and love that was real for Desdemona which he has ruined.Ĥ10 (Loyalty) If heaven would make me such another world of one entire and perfect chrysolite, I’d not have sold her for it” Othello described as a horse and old having sex with his pure daughter. “Even now, now, very now, an old black ram is tupping your white ewe” Act 1 Scene 1 p4 (Loyalty)Īnimal imagery used by Iago to provoke Brabantio past his limits. “Let nobody scorn him: His scorn I approve” Act 4 Scene 3 p3ĭesdemona- Loyal to him when he doesn’t deserve it ‘I’d rather be a toad than to only have a part of someone I love, sharing the rest of her with others” Act 3 scene 3 (Jealousy)Īnimal imagery, wont share Desdemona. Othello now using slanderous terms to describe her contrasting to what he used to call her pure etc. “This is a subtle w#re, A closet, lock and key, of villainous secrets: And yet she’ll kneel and pray, I have seen her do it” (Jealousy) Belie suggests falseness is a contradiction to what Othello believed her to be- he’s extremely disappointed. lying to Othello and physically lying in bed with Cassio. Repetition of lie highlights the two sets of lies she’s supposedly committed. “Lie with her? Lie on her? ‘We say lie on her’ when they belie her” Act 4 Scene 1 p3 (Jealousy) Very important quote – Iago manipulating Othello. Othello’s metaphoric and literal view (green eyes) have tarnished how he see’s Desdemona. “O beware, my lord, of jealousy: It is the green-eyed monster which doth mock the meet it feeds on” Act 3 scene 3 p8 (Jealousy)Įnvy growing in Othello. Emphatic ‘oh’ used throughout Othello, indicates broken speech, thus mind, thus broken society- natural order broken common feature. Repetition of ‘come’ emphasises lust for each other.Įmphasises Othello’s jealousy and emotional pain. Fruit also show that something will grow and bloom. Fruits=sweet and potential garden of eden foreshadowing the couples demise. Purchase/transaction-Desdemona an object. “The purchase made, the fruits are to ensue: that profit’s yet to come ‘tween me and you” Act 2 Scene 2 (Lust) “To please the palate of my appetite” Act 1 Scene 3 (Lust) Pride can be seen as a fatal flaw with many in Othello. In this context, is a word synonymous with pride. My reputation, Iago, my reputation!”(Pride) “Reputation, reputation, reputation! Oh, I have lost my reputation! I have lost the immortal part of myself, and what remains is bestial. Injured pride she must die for damaging his pride. “Yet she must die else she’ll betray more men” Act 5 scene 2(Pride) Personal pronouns, parts could have sexual reference or his possessions etc, titles is his reputation and soul are the things that are important to him. “My parts, my titles and my perfect soul” Act 1 scene 2 (Arrogance) “She loved me for the dangers I had passed” Act 1 scene 3 (Arrogance)Ī lot of pronoun i and me show his arrogance.

jealousy in othello quotes

‘Won’ makes it seem inevitable as a general Othello doesn’t lose battles.

jealousy in othello quotes

“I won his daughter’ Act 1 scene 3 (Arrogance) “Her father loved me” Act 1 scene 3 (Arrogance)










Jealousy in othello quotes